You are here

Dubai Millennium (GB)

Wins
9
Career earnings
$4,521,520.17
Official rating
127

ملامح الصقر

اذا كان هناك أي حصان لديه ملامح تشبه الصقر، فإنه بكل تأكيد هذا المهر ابن الفحل "سيكنغ ذا غولد" الذي أشرف على تدريبه لصاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم المدرب ديفيد لودر.

ولد "دبي ملينيوم" في مزرعة دلهام هول في عام 1996، وأثار هذا المهر الجذاب الأعجاب منذ مراحل مبكرة في حياته. كان اسمه في الأصيل "يازر" وتعني "الغزال الأبيض"، وقد حصل على اسمه الأسطوري الحالي بعد أن اكتشفه سموه بفراسته المعهودة كواحد من أكثر الخيول الناشئة الواعدة بين أقرانه في تلك السن، إن لم يكن على الإطلاق.

بإشراف المدرب ديفيد لودر عندما كان ناشئا، خاض "دبي ملينيوم" مشاركة وحيدة في عمر السنتين، لكن كان ذلك أداءً لا يبارح الذاكرة، حيث كسب سباق مبتدئة على مسافة الميل في يارموث بخمسة أطوال، بينما أراحه الفارس في المراحل الأخيرة.

عقب ذلك انتقل "دبي ملينيوم" الى اسطبل المدرب سعيد بن سرور وخاض مشاركته الأولى في عمر ثلاث سنوات في أوائل مايو، حيث اكتسح منافسيه بتسعة أطوال في سباق شروط جرى في دونكاستر. ثم عاد سريعا عقب 15 يوما ليسطر أول انتصار له بسباق رئيسي، حيث اندفع من خلف الصفوف ليربح سباق بريدومنيت ستيكس في غوودوود بثلاثة أطوال ونصف الطول.

اتيحت للمهر فرصة المشاركة بالداربي، غير ان الأمور لم تمض لمصلحته في ذلك اليوم وكانت تلك الخسارة الوحيدة في مسيرته المتوهجة. المهر قفز عائدا الى مستواه المعهود بسباق ج2 بري يوجين آدم قبل يقتنص فوزه الأول في الفئة الأولى بسباق بري جاك لو مروا في دوفيل بفرنسا، حيث تفوق على رفيقه الممثل الآخر لجودلفين والفائز سلفا في الفئة الأولى المهر "سليكلي".

 

أنهى "دبي ملينيوم" حملة مشاركاته في ذلك الموسم بانتصار عريض بفارق ستة أطوال بسباق ج1 كوين إليزابيث الثانية ستيكس في آسكوت ثم سافر الى دبي لقضاء فصل الشتاء حيث تعاظمت الآمال بأن إنجازه الأعظم لم يتحقق بعد.

عروض مذهلة

ومع بداية الألفية الجديدة، استهل "دبي ملينيوم" تحضيراته للسباق الذي سُمي خصيصا قبل عامين من أجل الفوز به – كأس دبي العالمي عام 2000. في أول ظهور له بمضمار ند الشبا، اكتسح منافسيه الى فوز سهل بفارق أربعة أطوال ونصف الطول بسباق القوائم تحدي آل مكتوم، مما هيأه للمنافسة في أغنى سباق للخيول في العالم بعد بضعة أسابيع.

في الأمسية الكبيرة، كان "دبي ملينيوم" مثيرا للإعجاب. بعد أن اعتلى الصدارة عقب فيرلونغ واحد، بدأ يشق طريقه مبتعدا أكثر فأكثر عن منافسيه في المسار المستقيم ليكسب في نهاية المطاف بفارق ستة أطوال، فيما حل الثاني خلفه "بيهرنس" بفارق خمسة أطوال عن بقية المنافسين. لقد كان أداءاً مذهلا كسر فيه الزمن القياسي بحوالي نصف ثانية.

بعدها عاد "دبي ملينيوم" الى أوروبا، وبأسلوبه المعتاد في قيادة المنافسة منذ البداية، اكتسح منافسيه بسباق ج1 برينس أوف ويلز ستيكس في الرويال آسكوت، حيث فاز بما لا يقل عن ستة أطوال.

لكن، ومما يؤسف له، كان ذلك الانتصار هو آخر ظهور له في ميادين السباق، حيث أن الإصابة الخطيرة التي تعرض لها أثناء أدائه للتمرين كان تعني إحالته للتقاعد وعودته الى مسقط رأسه ليستهل مسيرته الجديدة كفحل للضراب في اسطبلات دلهام هول.

إرث يتواصل

أحيل "دبي ملينيوم" الى التقاعد وهو يحمل تنصيف تايم فورم مرتفعاُ يبلغ 140 رطلا، وهو الأعلى منذ "دانسنغ بريف" وثامن أعلى تصنيف يمنح لحصان منذ تأسيس تلك المنظمة.

وفي حالة مأساوية، في شهر أبريل، 2001، أصيب "دبي ملينيوم" بمرض تسمم العشب، وبالرغم من الجهود المضنية الذي بذلها الفريق البيطري المعالج، لم يكن ممكناً إنقاذه.

غير أن إرثه يتواصل الآن من خلال العدد القليل من الجيل الأول لأبنائه وعددهم 56 فلوا لعل أبرزهم النجم "دباوي".

 

وبعد أن ترسم خطى والده في الفوز بسباق ج1 بري جاك لو مروا، بعد أن فاز سلفاً بسباق ج1 ناشونال ستيكس في عمر السنتين وسباق 2,000 غينيز الإيرلندي في عمر ثلاث سنوات، أحيل "دباوي" الى التقاعد لتحسين النسل في اسطبلات دلهام هول حيث أصبح أحد أنجح الفحول على مستوى العالم – ما يعد لمسة وفاء ملائمة لوالده المرموق.

Age
Deceased
Foal date
20/03/1996
Gender
Horse
Colour
Bay
Sire
Seeking The Gold (USA)
Dam
Colorado Dancer (GB)
Breeder
Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum

Career Results

Dubai Millennium (GB) Seeking The Gold (USA) Mr Prospector (USA) Raise A Native (USA)
1961
1970 Gold Digger (USA)
1962
1985 Con Game (USA) Buckpasser (USA)
1963
1974 Broadway (GB)
1959
1996 Colorado Dancer (GB) Shareef Dancer (USA) Northern Dancer (CAN)
1961
1980 Sweet Alliance (USA)
1974
1986 Fall Aspen (USA) Pretense (GB)
1963
1976 Change Water (USA)
1969

You are here

Dubai Millennium (GB)

Wins
9
Career earnings
$4,521,520.17
Official rating
127

'The look of eagles'

If ever a horse had 'the look of eagles' about him it was this beautiful colt by Seeking The Gold who was trained for Sheikh Mohammed by David Loder.

Dubai Millennium was born at Dalham Hall Stud in 1996 and the handsome son of Seeking The Gold impressed from an early stage. Originally named Yaazer, meaning ‘White Gazelle’, he was given his now legendary name after being quickly identified him as one of the most promising two-year-olds of his year, if not ever.

Trained by David Loder as a juvenile, Dubai Millennium made just one start at two but it was a performance to remember as he won his one-mile maiden at Yarmouth by five lengths, eased down in the closing stages.

Dubai Millennium was then transferred to Godolphin and Saeed bin Suroor’s stable and made his three-year-old debut in early May, romping to a nine-length victory in a Doncaster conditions race. A swift return 15 days later saw him gain his first Stakes win, flying from last to first to win the Predominate Stakes at Goodwood by three and a half lengths.

Allowed to take his chance in the Derby, things did not go his way that day but that was to be his one and only taste of defeat during his illustrious career. He bounced back to form in the G2 Prix Eugene Adam before gaining his first G1 victory in the Prix Jacques le Marois at Deauville, finishing ahead of fellow Godolphin runner and previous G1 winner Slickly.

Dubai Millennium rounded off his campaign with a massive six-length win in the G1 Queen Elizabeth II Stakes at Ascot and travelled to winter in Dubai full of the promise that his best was yet to come.

Striking performances

As the new millennium began, so did Dubai Millennium’s preparations for a race that had been earmarked for him two years previously - the 2000 Dubai World Cup. On his debut at Nad Al Sheba, he eased to a four-and-a-half-length win in the Listed Al Maktoum Challenge, setting him up perfectly for the world’s richest race a few weeks later.

On the big night, Dubai Millennium could not have been more impressive. Taking the lead after a furlong, he pulled further and further clear of his rivals in the home straight and eventually won by six lengths, with second-placed Behren five lengths ahead of the rest of the field. It was a truly spectacular performance and one that broke the track record by nearly half a second.

Dubai Millennium then returned to Europe and in his typical front-running style, trounced the field in the G1 Prince Of Wales’s Stakes at Royal Ascot, winning by no fewer than six lengths.

Sadly, that victory was to be his last appearance on the racecourse, as a serious injury sustained on the gallops meant he was to return to his birthplace to start his new career as a stallion at Dalham Hall Stud.

His legacy lives on

He retired with a Timeform rating of 140, the highest since Dancing Brave and the eighth highest awarded since the organisation was founded.

Tragically, in April 2001, Dubai Millennium contracted grass sickness and despite every effort from his expert veterinary team, he could not be saved.

His legacy, however, continues as his small first crop of just 56 foals included none other than Dubawi.

After following in his father’s footsteps when winning the G1 Prix Jacques le Marois, having already won the G1 National Stakes at two and the Irish 2,000 Guineas earlier that year, Dubawi took up stud duties at Dalham Hall and has since become one of the most successful stallions in the world – a fitting tribute to his outstanding sire.

Age
Deceased
Foal date
20/03/1996
Gender
Horse
Colour
Bay
Sire
Seeking The Gold (USA)
Dam
Colorado Dancer (GB)
Breeder
Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum

Career Results

Dubai Millennium (GB) Seeking The Gold (USA) Mr Prospector (USA) Raise A Native (USA)
1961
1970 Gold Digger (USA)
1987
1985 Con Game (USA) Buckpasser (USA)
1963
1974 Broadway (GB)
1959
1996 Colorado Dancer (GB) Shareef Dancer (USA) Northern Dancer (CAN)
1961
1980 Sweet Alliance (USA)
1974
1986 Fall Aspen (USA) Pretense (GB)
1963
1976 Change Water (USA)
1969