You are here

Shortlist revealed for 20th anniversary Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards, sponsored by Godolphin

Shortlisted nominees for each of the six categories at the 2024 Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards have been announced today following a competitive judging process.

Organised by the British Horseracing Authority (BHA) and sponsored by Godolphin, the prestigious awards provide the opportunity for employees from the racing industry to be celebrated for their hard work and dedication to the sport of horseracing.

The 20th anniversary of the awards, which will be hosted by ITV Racing’s Ed Chamberlin at Ascot Racecourse on 26 February 2024, attracted a bumper set of top-quality nominations.

The judging panel for the Awards have been hard at work since nominations closed earlier this month whittling over 180 nominations down to a final shortlist of 10 nominees in each category.

All shortlisted nominees will receive a £250 prize to recognise the significant achievement of having reached this stage of the judging process.

The judges will now commence the second stage of the judging process, where they narrow the shortlist down to three finalists in each category, with the winners to be announced at the ceremony at Ascot in February.

There is a total prize money fund of £128,500 up for grabs for the awards, with as much as £30,000 available to the overall Employee of the Year and their yard or stud.

Julie Harrington, Chief Executive of the BHA, said:

“Congratulations to everyone who has been shortlisted for an award. It is a fantastic achievement, and all those shortlisted should be very proud to be recognised by their peers, employers and the judges.

“We are delighted with the nominations received this year, both in terms of the number and the high quality. This has made for a very competitive judging process.

“I wish our shortlisted nominees the very best of luck in the next round of judging.”

The BHA and Godolphin would like to thank the Awards media partners, Racing Post and Racing TV, and stakeholders from across British racing for supporting and promoting the launch and nomination period of the 2024 Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards.

The shortlisted nominees for each category are:

David Nicholson Newcomer

Daria Bogash (Charlie Longsdon)
Chloe Blaikie (Katie Scott)
Fred Daly (Sir Mark Prescott)
Molly Roberts (Ed Walker)
Henry Pugh (Tim Vaughan)
Bethan Nelson (Warren Greatrex)
Hollie Wiltshire (Alan King)
Bella Nicholls (Jedd O’Keeffe)
Tyler Bowden-Falvey (James Ferguson)
Abel O’Gorman (Alice Haynes)


Andrew McIntyre (William Haggas)
Eamonn O'Donnabhain (Tom Lacey)
Cheryl Armstrong (Charlie Fellowes)
Annabelle Johnson (Scott Dixon)
Kathryn Martyn (Richard Mitford)
Oliver Kozak (Warren Greatrex)
Liz Mason (Amy Murphy)
Lucinda Lingwood-Rix (Tim Vaughan)
Kirsty Huff (Nick Gifford)
Jeremy Mahot (Chris Gordon)


Chloe Angus (Jedd O’Keeffe)
Keagan Kirkby (Paul Nicholls)
Chelsea Brooks (Ollie Pears)
Clive Banwell (Christian Williams)
Madan Singh (Mick Appleby)
Alice Kettlewell (Karl Burke)
Emily Meek (Jeremy Scott)
Lyndsey Bull (Ian Williams)
Lorena Walsh (Lucinda Russell)
Vicky Boyle-Atkins (Richard Phillips)

Stud Staff

Jack Conroy (Chasemore Farm)
Noel Challinor (Northmore Stud)
David Porter-Mackrell (Newsells Park Stud)
Jaqueline Birkhead (The Royal Studs)
Cara Stephen (Bumble Bloodstock)
Melinda Hertelendy (Fittocks Stud)
Scott Marshall (David Redvers Bloodstock)
Laura Wright (Hazlewood Bloodstock)
Anna Carruthers (Fittocks Stud)
Csaba Babas (Hascombe & Valiant Stud)


Andrew Fairchild (North Farm Stud)
Kerry Jones (Sir Michael Stoute)
Fiona McGlone (Hascombe & Valiant Stud)
Martin Coulson (Blue Diamond Stud)
Linda Murphy (Rae Guest)
Chris Carter (James Tate)
Shamus Donkin (Habton Racing)
Claudia Carruthers (Nick Alexander)
Andrea Kelly (Tim Vaughan)
Brian Taylor (Luck Greyer Shipping)

Community Award

David Letts (Racing With Pride)
Rory Bevin (Habton Racing)
James Rennard (The Jockey Club)
Samantha Luton-Hughes (Racing Together)
Lauren Semple (Police Scotland/Scottish Racing Academy)
Catherine Leeson Injured Jockeys Fund/Jack Berry House)
Emma Tranter (Salisbury Racecourse)
Joanna Flaherty (Chelmsford City Racecourse)
Steph Collett (HEROS)
Claire Edmunds (National Horseracing College)