You are here

Finalists announced for 2019 UK Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards

The 18 finalists for the 2019 UK Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards have been announced.

Having narrowed down the 202 applications to a shortlist of ten finalists in each of the six categories in December, the judges have now made their final selection of three finalists for each award.

The final stage of judging will now take place in London on the day of the awards ceremony on Monday, 18 February, 2019, where finalists will be interviewed face-to-face by the judges who will then decide the winners and runners-up.

The results will be revealed later that evening at the awards ceremony at the Jumeirah Carlton Towers hotel in Knightsbridge. It has also been confirmed today that the 2019 awards will be hosted for the first time by ITV Racing’s Oli Bell.

Bell, who also presents ITV’s The Opening Show which recently featured a discussion on stable staff, said:

“Throughout my life and role at ITV Racing I am constantly reminded of the importance of the stud and stable staff, without them the industry wouldn’t survive, and it is a real honour to be presenting these prestigious awards. 

“Some of the stories from the previous finalists and winners have been incredibly moving and I am sure this year will also provide some amazing stories and demonstrate the dedication and excellent care that British racing’s workforce provides its racehorses”.   

The 2019 finalists and their nominators are:

David Nicholson Newcomer Award

Sophy Scott - Mark Johnston, Middleham, North Yorkshire 

April Clarke - Jedd O’Keeffe, Leyburn, North Yorkshire 

Max McLoughlin - Cheveley Park Stud, Newmarket, Suffolk

Leadership Award

Dan Horsford - Alan King, Marlborough, Wiltshire 

Catriona Bissett - Nick Alexander, Leslie, Fife 

Barry O’Dowd - John Gosden, Newmarket, Suffolk 

Rider/Groom Award

Sean Graham - Philip Hobbs, Minehead, Somerset 

Stewart Gossnell - Richard Hughes, Lambourn, Berkshire 

Ian Clarkson - Micky Hammond, Middleham, North Yorkshire 

Stud Staff Award

Andrew Snell - Cheveley Park Stud, Newmarket, Suffolk 

Christine Chapman - Theakston Stud, Bedale, North Yorkshire  

Kevin Tobin - New England Stud, Newmarket, Suffolk  

Dedication to Racing Award

John Bottomley - Ollie Pears, Malton, North Yorkshire 

David Macleod - James Ewart, Langholm, Dumfriesshire 

Jaimie Duff - Lucinda Russell, Kinross, Perthshire  

Rory MacDonald Community Award 

Deborah Hay - Lingfield Park Racecourse, Surrey

Andrea O’Keefe - Jedd O’Keeffe, Leyburn, North Yorkshire 

Sarah Montgomery - Musselburgh Racecourse, East Lothian